Nominate a company that gives back to the community

Nominate a company that gives back to the community

medallionWe all know of a corporation or business that steps up and does good things in a community, whether it’s donating money or supplies, or providing volunteer help. Here is your chance to help give that company some much-deserved recognition and praise.

Nominate that business for Washington’s highest civics award.

The Office of Secretary of State is accepting nominations for a 2013 Corporations for Communities Award, and the deadline to nominate a company is Aug. 31.

Nomination forms can be found here on the Secretary of State’s website.

Secretary of State Kim Wyman thinks CFC is a great program:

“Washington is blessed with many companies committed to giving back to their communities. Corporations for Communities offers the public a way to recognize some of these caring and generous businesses. Now more than ever, it is important to honor those corporations that make a difference.”

Wyman will choose one large and one small corporation from among the nominations. Her selections will receive a National Association of Secretaries of State Medallion (photo right), the highest civics honor that the state awards. Winners for this year’s award will be announced in early October, and the awards ceremony will take place in late October in Wyman’s office.

Anyone is able to nominate businesses for the Corporations for Communities Award. Any sized for-profit corporation, limited liability company (LLC), or limited partnership is eligible for the award. Nominees need to be registered with the Office of the Secretary of State and must be in compliance with state and federal laws.

The Corporations for Communities program was started in 2009 as a way to recognize exceptional Washington businesses that demonstrate a commitment to giving in order to improve local or regional social and environmental conditions. The award program is run by the Corporations & Charities Division, which is part of the Office of Secretary of State.

Past winners are:
2009: KING Television (large), Composite Solutions (small)
Spring 2010: Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories (large), Aboda (small)
Fall 2010: GLY Construction (large), Dissmore’s Foods (small)
2011: Sterling Savings Bank (large), Korsmo Construction (small)
2012: TreeTop (large), Jim’s Pharmacy (small)

For more information about the Corporations for Communities program, contact program coordinator Patrick Reed at (360) 725-0358 or

Please follow and like us:
Comments are closed.