## SENATE RESOLUTION 8667

By Senators Prentice, Zarelli, Fairley, Holmquist, Kline, Kauffman, Regala, Keiser, Hargrove, Rockefeller, Delvin, Oemig, Parlette, Shin, Brandland, Sheldon, Tom, Hobbs, Franklin, Becker, Kastama, Hatfield, Eide, Marr, Kohl-Welles, McDermott, McAuliffe, Honeyford, Jacobsen, Ranker, Murray, Hewitt, Pridemore, Berkey, and Swecker

WHEREAS, Seattle Sounders FC has completed its historic inaugural season by setting an unprecedented new MLS record for average per game attendance at 30,943, and selling the most season tickets in the league; and

WHEREAS, Sounders FC has reached the top 50 in average attendance for all soccer clubs throughout the world; and

WHEREAS, The team's majority owner Joe Roth, its minority owners, Adrian Hanauer, Paul Allen, and Drew Carey, together with Gary Wright, senior vice president of business operations, and his administrative staff have assembled a talented coaching staff led by two-time MLS Cup winner and all-time winningest coach Sigi Schmid, and assistants Brian Schmetzer, Tom Dutra, Ezra Hendrickson, Kurt Schmid, David Tenney, and technical director Chris Henderson; and

WHEREAS, Washington's very own Kasey Keller is the team captain, and team members include: Freddie Ljungberg, Chris Eylander, Brad Evans, Patrick Ianni, Tyson Wahl, Osvaldo Alonso, James Riley, Peter Vagenas, Steve Zakuani, Nathan Sturgis, Tyrone Marshall, Stephen King, Leonardo González, Zach Scott, Sanna Nyassi, Roger Levesque, Taylor Graham, Terry Boss, Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, and leading goal scorer Fredy Montero; and

WHEREAS, Sounders FC brought pride to Washington state by finishing the 2009 season with a winning record, becoming the first team since 1998 to qualify for the MLS playoffs in its first season, and being only the second expansion team in MLS history to win the U.S. Open Cup tournament in its first season, qualifying for the 2010-11 CONCACAF Champions League; and

WHEREAS, Kasey Keller, Freddie Ljungberg, Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, and Fredy Montero represented Sounders FC on the MLS All-Star team; and

WHEREAS, Kasey Keller was named the U.S. Open Cup MVP, Fredy Montero was named MLS Newcomer of the Year, and Sounders FC won eight individual and club MLS executive awards; and

WHEREAS, The team has become a pillar of the community by setting an MLS record in raising more than 23,000 dollars for the "Nothing But Nets" program, while players, coaches, and owners made more than 80 community appearances during the season and have contributed funds to youth-oriented community projects and activities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington state Senate honor Seattle Sounders FC for its triumphant and record-breaking season and for bringing exciting, world class professional soccer to all Washington state citizens; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Sounders FC ownership, coaches, and players.