WA 2015 General Election certified — now on to 2016!

WA 2015 General Election certified — now on to 2016!

Gov. Inslee and Mark N certify election

Assistant Secretary of State Mark Neary (left) signs an election document as Gov. Inslee looks on.

Gov. Jay Inslee and Assistant Secretary of State Mark Neary made it official Wednesday, certifying the 2015 General Election returns.

Over 1.5 million ballots, including thousands from military and overseas voters, were submitted during the voting period. The odd-year election included two state initiatives, two state House races, over 3,000 local government races and 166 measures.

“This election put the limelight on local government and how important these offices and local ballot measures are to our daily lives,” said Secretary of State Kim Wyman, the state’s chief elections officer. “I am proud of the 1.5 million Washingtonians who stepped up and voted.”

Neary, state Elections Director Lori Augino, elections specialist Libby Nieland and others joined the governor in his inner office for the civic ceremony of signing documents on Initiative 1366 and I-1401, and the other election results. Last week, the 39 counties certified all of their races and measures that were wholly within their borders.

I-1366, Tim Eyman’s anti-tax measure, passed narrowly, 51.5 percent to 48.5 percent, and is being challenged in court.

I-1401, cracking down on trafficking of endangered species, passed by one of the largest margins in state history, 70.3 percent to 29.7 percent. Inslee joked that somebody should take a picture as he was signing I-1401 and send it to Paul Allen. Allen, the Seahawks and Trailblazers owner and co-founder of Microsoft, was the moving force and main donor to the initiative campaign.

Here are the unofficial results from our website: http://tinyurl.com/z6w3slp.

Now Augino and her Elections crew and the 39 county election offices will start preparing for spring local elections, the Presidential Primary, and, soon enough, the summer primary and the fall General Election.

Comments are closed.